Back to A-Z


Triggerfinger

Als Triggerfinger (schnellender Finger, stenosierende Flexor-Tenosynovitis) bezeichnet man einen Finger, der sich aus einer flektierten Lage nicht mehr frei strecken lässt. Der Schweregrad reicht von Fingersteifigkeit und ruckartiger Bewegung zu einem Finger, der sich auch unter Kraftaufwand von aussen nicht strecken lässt.

Ursächlich für einen Triggerfinger ist eine Entzündung im Bereich der Flexoren-Sehnenscheide, was zu einer Schwellung führt und damit die Beweglichkeit einschränkt. Diese Entzündung kann durch repetitive Handbewegungen oder Trauma ausgelöst werden und es findet sich auch ein generell erhöhtes Risiko bei einigen Systemkrankheiten wie rheumatoider Arthritis, Diabetes oder Gicht. In der Praxis bleibt der genaue Auslöser jedoch oft auch unklar.

Die milde Form des Triggerfingers kann konservativ mit Ruhigstellung, entzündungshemmenden Medikamenten oder einer Kortisonspritze behandelt werden. Als chirurgische Therapie wird unter Lokalanästhesie der Sehneneingang gespalten, was meist innerhalb kurzer Zeit zu Beschwerdefreiheit führt.


PubMed

UpToDate

Images


Video: Symptoms and Treatment

Video: Real-Life Example


MayoClinic

Schulthess Klinik (German)

American Society for Surgery of the Hand

OrthoInfo

WebMD

Back to A-Z


Trigger finger

Trigger finger (also known as stenosing flexor tenosynovitis) is the term for a finger that cannot easily be extended from a flexed position. Severity ranges from a stiff finger or jerky finger movement to a finger that cannot even be extended when outside force is applied.

Inflammation of the flexor tendon sheath is responsible for a trigger finger, leading to swelling and thus limited mobility. This inflammation can be caused by repetitive hand movements or trauma and there is also an increased risk in some systemic diseases like rheumatoid arthritis, diabetes and gout. The exact triggering factor is, however, often unclear.

A mild version of the trigger finger can be treated conservatively with immobilization, anti-inflammatory drugs or a local cortisone injection. If surgical therapy is needed the tendon's entry point is cut open under local anesthesia, which usually leads to a remission of symptoms within a short period of time.


PubMed

UpToDate

Images


Video: Symptoms and Treatment

Video: Real-Life Example


MayoClinic

Schulthess Klinik (German)

American Society for Surgery of the Hand

OrthoInfo

WebMD