Back to A-Z


Schulter-Anatomie

Als unsere menschlichen Vorfahren zu Zweifüssern evolvierten, entwickelte sich der skapulohumerale Komplex entsprechend den spezifischen Ansprüchen einer orthograden Haltung und der Greifbewegung. Die inhärente ossäre Gelenkskongruität, die für gewichtsbelastende Aktivitäten notwendig ist, wurde in den oberen Extremitäten für eine durch Weichteile definierte Stabilität geopfert, was dem Glenohumeralgelenk einen grösseren Bewegungsumfang ermöglicht.

Unser Schultergelenk bietet einen grösseren Bewegungsumfang als jedes andere Gelenk im Körper, hat aber auch das grösste Risiko einer Instabilität.

Schulterbewegungen sind ein Zusammenspiel von Bewegungen an vier Gelenken: sternoklavikular, akromioklavikular, glenohumeral und skapulothorakal.

Sternoklavikular-Gelenk

Das Sternoklavikular-Gelenk (SC) ist ein kugelartiges Gelenk zwischen dem medialen Ende des Schlüsselbeins und sowohl dem Manubrium als auch dem ersten Rippenknorpel. Ein intraartikulärer fibrokartilaginärer Diskus stabilisiert das Gelenk und verhindert eine mediale Dislozierung des Schlüsselbeins. Die Gelenkkapsel wird durch die anterioren und posterioren SC-Ligamente verstärkt.

Akromioklavikular-Gelenk

Das Akromioklavikular-Gelenk (AC) ist ein kugelartiges Gelenk zwischen dem lateralen Ende des Schlüsselbeins und dem Processus acromialis der Skapula.

Die AC- und SC-Gelenke erweitern den Bewegungsumfang der Schulter, insbesondere Abduktion und Rotation. Die Gelenke erlauben auch eine gerinfügige axiale Rotation des Schlüsselbeins, sowie eine Elevation/Depression und eine Anterior-/Posterior-Verschiebung der Schulter.

Glenohumeral-Gelenk

Das Glenohumeral-Gelenk (GH) wird durch den Humeruskopf und die Glenoid-Oberfläche der Skapula gebildet. Ihre geometrische Beziehung erlaubt einen bemerkenswerten Bewegungsumfang.

Skapulothorakale Bewegungen

Das sogenante skapulothorakale Gelenk ist kein echtes Gelenk, funktioniert aber als ein wichtiger Teil des Schulterkomplexes. Die Skapula, welche durch die axioappendikularen Muskeln am posterioren Anteil der Brustwand befestigt ist, stellt den Ursprung der Rotatorenmanschette und des Deltoideus dar und der Trapezius inseriert an ihrem superioren Aspekt.

Schulterkapsel

Die Schulterkapsel ist gross und hat die doppelte Oberfläche des Humeruskopfes. Sie enthält normalerweise 28-35 mL Flüssigkeit, bei Frauen generell mehr als bei Männern. Unter pathologischen Bedingungen variiert diese Menge jedoch. In Patienten mit adhäsiver Kapsulitis z.B. enthält die Schulterkapsel nur 5 mL oder weniger Flüssigkeit, während es in Patienten mit beträchtlicher Laxheit oder Instabilität auch grössere Flüssigkeitsvolumen sein können.

Die Kapsel ist von Synovium ausgekleidet und erstreckt sich vom Glenoidhals (manchmal vom Labrum) in variablem Ausmass bis zum anatomischen Hals und dem proximalen Humerusschaft. Die Kapsel setzt oft superior am Processus coracoideus an, sowie auf beiden Seiten des Skapularkörpers (über die Recessi anterior et posterior).

Die Gelenkkapsel integriert sich mit den ligamentösen Strukturen, die von nahegelegenen knöchernen Strukturen ausgehen und enthält in ihrer Substanz die glenohumeralen Ligamente, inklusive dem inferioren glenohumeralen Komplex. Alle diese Strukturen weisen eine grosse Variation in ihrer Grösse, Form, Dicke und ihrem Ansatz auf. Eine Studie an Leichen zeigte ein vermindertes Zugverhalten der glenohumeralen Kapsel in Patienten mit anteriorer Instabilität, was die Wichtigkeit unterstreicht, dass diese Kapsel in dieser Patientengruppe nicht nur mit Fältelung und Nähen zur Symptomkontrolle behandelt werden sollte.

Changes to the mechanical properties of the genohumeral capsule during anterior dislocation.

Auf allen Seiten der Schulterkapsel, mit der Ausnahme des unteren Teils, ist die Kapsel durch die Sehnen der Rotatorenmanschette (supraspinatus, infraspinatus, teres minor und subscapularis) verstärkt. Die Sehnen mischen sich mit einer variablen Länge in die Kapsel, durchschnittlich ca. 2.5 cm. Die prominenteste davon ist der anteriore tendinöse Anteil des M. subscapularis. Gemeinsam bilden sie die muskulotendinöse oder kapsulotendinöse Manschette.

Die glenohumeralen Ligamente sind kollagenöse Verstärkungen der Schulterkapsel, die auf der äusseren Oberfläche nicht sichtbar sind. Am besten können sie in situ arthroskopisch beurteilt werden, ohne Distension durch Luft oder Salzlösung. Ihre Funktion hängt von ihrer kollagenösen Integrität, ihren Ansatzstellen und der Position des Arms ab.

Shoulder Capsular Anatomy on eORIF

Bursae & recessi

In der Schulterregion befinden sich mehrere Bursae und eine Anzahl von Recessi befinden sich in der Schulterkapsel zwischen den glenohumeralen Ligamenten. Insbesondere zwei Bursae haben klinische Relevanz: die subakromiale Bursa und die subskapuläre Bursa. Eher selten kann sich auch eine andere Bursa zwischen dem Musculus infraspinatus und der Kapsel befinden. Andere synoviale Recessi befinden sich normalerweise im anterioren Anteil der Kapsel. Die Anzahl, Grösse und Lokalisation dieser Recessi hängt von topographischen Variationen in den glenohumeralen Ligamenten ab.

Sechs häufige Variationen oder Arten von Recessi in der anterioren Kapsel wurden beschrieben:

Typ 1: hat einen synovialen Recessus über dem mittleren glenohumeralen Ligament.

Typ 2: hat einen synovialen Recessus unter dem mittleren glenohumeralen Ligament.

Typ 3: hat einen Recessus über und unter dem mittleren glenohumeralen Ligament.

Typ 4: hat einen grossen Recessus über dem inferioren Ligament, bei einem fehlenden mittleren glenohumeralen Ligament.

Typ 5: das mittlere glenohumerale Ligament liegt als zwei kleine synoviale Falten vor.

Typ 6: hat keine synoviale Recessi, aber alle Ligamente sind gut definiert.

Synovial Recesses on ShoulderDoc

Unabhängig von ihrer Konfiguration weisen die Recessi eine extreme Variabilität auf.

Nervenversorgung des Schultergelenks:

Die oberflächlichen und tiefen Strukturen der Schulter sind durch ein Netzwerk von Nervenfasern, die sich hauptsächlich von den C5-, C6-, und C7-Nervenwurzeln ableiten, gründlich innerviert (die C4-Wurzel kann auch kleinere Beiträge stellen).

The innervation of the shoulder joint.

Die Innervation des Gelenks an sich folgt dem Gesetz nach Hilton, welches besagt, dass Nerven, die ein Gelenk überqueren, Zweige ans Gelenk abgeben und damit das Gelenk innervieren. Entsprechend sind die Nerven, welche die Ligamente, die Kapsel und die Synovialmembran der Schulter versorgen, medulläre und nichtmedulläre Fasern von den Nervi axillaris, suprascapularis, subscapularis et musculocutaneous. Gelegentliche Beiträge stammen auch von kleinen Zweigen des Fasciculus posterior des Plexus brachialis.


Pubmed

UpToDate

Images


Videos:

Shoulder Anatomy Animated Tutorial

Muscles of the upper arm and shoulder blade - Human Anatomy | Kenhub

Shoulder Joint - Glenohumeral Joint - 3D Anatomy Tutorial


Web:

WebMD's Shoulder Anatomy

Medscape

TeachMeAnatomy

MurdochOrthopaedic

Back to A-Z


Shoulder Anatomy

As our human ancestors evolved to become bipedal, the scapulohumeral complex evolved to comply with the specific demands that arise from an orthograde posture and to facilitate prehension. The inherent osseous articular congruity required for weight-bearing activities were sacrificed in the upper extremities for soft tissue stability to afford a greater degree of mobility at the glenohumeral joint.

Our shoulder joint provides a greater range of motion than any other joint in the body and also has the greatest risk of instability.

Shoulder movements are a synthesis of motion at four articulations:

sternoclavicular, acromioclavicular, glenohumeral, and scapulothoracic

Sternoclavicular Joint

The sternoclavicular (SC) joint is a spheroidal joint between the medial end of the clavicle and both the manubrium and the first costal cartilage. An intraarticular fibrocartilaginous disk stabilizes the joint and prevents medial displacement of the clavicle. The joint capsule is reinforced by the anterior and posterior SC ligaments.

Acromioclavicular Joint

The acromioclavicular (AC) joint is a spheroidal joint between the lateral end of the clavicle and the acromion process of the scapula

The AC and SC joints augment the range of shoulder movements, particularly abduction and rotation. The joints also allow slight axial rotation of the clavicle, as well as elevation/depression and forward/backward thrusting of the shoulder.

Glenohumeral Joint

The glenohumeral (GH) joint is formed by the humeral head and the glenoid surface of the scapula. Their geometric relationship allows a remarkable range of motion.

Scapulothoracic Movements

The so-called scapulothoracic articulation is not a true joint but functions as an integral part of the shoulder complex. The scapula, which is connected to the posterior aspect of the chest wall by the axioappendicular muscles, provides the origin for the rotator cuff muscles and deltoid, and the trapezius inserts into its superior aspect.

Shoulder Capsule

The shoulder capsule is large and has twice the surface area of the humeral head. It typically accepts approximately 28 to 35 mL of fluid, with a greater amount in women than in men. However, in pathologic conditions, this amount varies. For example, in patients with adhesive capsulitis, the shoulder capsule accepts only 5 mL or less of fluid, whereas in patients with considerable laxity or instability it can accept larger volumes of fluid.

The capsule is lined by synovium and extends from the glenoid neck (or occasionally the labrum) to the anatomic neck and the proximal shaft of the humerus to varying degrees.The capsule often extends and attaches to the coracoid process superiorly and on either side of the scapular body (via the anterior and posterior recesses).

The joint capsule blends with ligamentous structures that arise on nearby bony landmarks and contains within its substance the glenohumeral ligaments, including the inferior glenohumeral complex. All of these structures show great variation in size, shape, thickness, and attachment. A cadaveric study demonstrated diminished tensile behavior of the glenohumeral capsule in patients with anterior instability, highlighting the importance of addressing this capsule with more than plication and suturing in symptom control for this population.

Changes to the mechanical properties of the genohumeral capsule during anterior dislocation.

On all sides of the shoulder capsule, except for the inferior portion, the capsule is reinforced and strengthened by the tendons of the rotator cuff muscles, that is, the supraspinatus, infraspinatus, teres minor, and subscapularis. The tendons blend into the capsule over varying lengths and average approximately 2.5 cm. The most prominent of these is the anterior tendinous portion of the subscapularis. Together, they form the musculotendinous or capsulotendinous cuff.

The glenohumeral ligaments are collagenous reinforcements to the shoulder capsule that are not visible on its external surface. They are best appreciated in situ arthroscopically without distension by air or saline . Their function depends on their collagenous integrity, their attachment sites, and the position of the arm.

Shoulder Capsular Anatomy on eORIF

Bursae & recesses

Several bursae are present in the shoulder region, and a number of recesses are found in the shoulder capsule between the glenohumeral ligaments. Two bursae in particular have clinical importance: the subacromial bursa, and the subscapular bursa. Although uncommon, another bursa may be present between the infraspinatus muscle and the capsule. Other synovial recesses are usually located in the anterior portion of the capsule. The number, size, and location of these recesses depend on topographic variations in the glenohumeral ligaments.

Six common variations or types of recesses in the anterior capsule are described:

Type 1: has one synovial recess above the middle glenohumeral ligament

Type 2: has one synovial recess below the middle glenohumeral ligament

Type 3: has one recess above and one below the middle glenohumeral ligament

Type 4: has one large recess above the inferior ligament, with the middle glenohumeral ligament being absent.

Type 5: the middle glenohumeral ligament is manifested as two small synovial folds

Type 6: has no synovial recesses, although all the ligaments are well defined

Synovial Recesses on ShoulderDoc

Regardless of the arrangement in which they are found, the recesses show extreme variability.

Nerve Supply to the Shoulder Joint:

The superficial and deep structures of the shoulder are profusely innervated by a network of nerve fibers that are mainly derived from the C5, C6, and C7 nerve roots (the C4 root can also make a minor contribution).

The innervation of the shoulder joint.

The innervation of the joint itself follows Hilton’s law, which states that nerves crossing a joint give off branches to the joint, providing its innervation. Therefore the nerves supplying the ligaments, capsule, and synovial membrane of the shoulder are medullary and nonmedullary fibers from the axillary, suprascapular, subscapular, and musculocutaneous nerves. Occasional contributions are made from small branches of the posterior cord of the brachial plexus.


Pubmed

UpToDate

Images


Videos:

Shoulder Anatomy Animated Tutorial

Muscles of the upper arm and shoulder blade - Human Anatomy | Kenhub

Shoulder Joint - Glenohumeral Joint - 3D Anatomy Tutorial


Web:

WebMD's Shoulder Anatomy

Medscape

TeachMeAnatomy

MurdochOrthopaedic