Back to A-Z


Serumkrankheit

  • Die Serumkrankheit ist eine Typ-III-Hypersenitivitäts-Reaktion, die aufgrund einer Injektion von heterologen oder fremden Proteinen oder Serum zustande kommt. Der Begriff “Serumkrankheit” wurde durch Pirquet und Schick eingeführt, die 1905 ein Buch mit dem Titel “Die Serumkrankheit” veröffentlichten.
  • Die Symptome entwickeln sich normalerweise innerhalb von 1-3 Wochen nach dem Erhalt des Antiserums und sind in den meisten Fällen an Fieber, geschwollenen Gelenken und einem Ausschlag erkennbar. Eine medizinische Anamnese, körperliche Untersuchung, sowie einfache Blut- und Urintests werden zur Diagnose der Serumkrankheit verwendet.
  • Die Standardtherapie für die Serumkrankheit sind Antihistamine und NSAR, welche helfen können, die Symptome zu reduzieren.
  • Die Prognose ist sehr gut und die meisten Individuen können innerhalb einiger Wochen eine vollständige Heilung erwarten. Komplikationen sind generell nicht häufig, es kann aber zu Anaphylaxie, einer Anschwellung des Gesichts, sowie Nervenentzündung kommen.

Pubmed

UpToDate

Images


Video


Web:

Medscape

Healthline

DermatologyAdvisor

McMaster Internal Medicine

Milton S. Hershey Medical Center

Serum Sickness Following Treatment with Rituximab (jrheum.com)

Serum sickness associated with rituximab in a patient with hepatitis C virus-related mixed cryoglobulinaemia (rheumatology.oxfordjournals.org)

Back to A-Z


Serum Sickness


  • Serum sickness is a type III hypersensitivity reaction that results from the injection of heterologous or foreign protein or serum. The term "serum sickness" was introduced by von Pirquet and Schick, who published a book with that title (Die Serumkrankheit) in 1905.

  • Symptoms usually develop within 1-3 weeks after receiving the antiserum and are recognized by fever, swollen, joints, and a rash in most cases. A medical history, physical examination, and simple blood and urine tests are used to diagnose Serum Sickness

  • The standard treatment for Serum Sickness is with antihistamines and NSAIDs, which can help reduce symptoms

  • The prognosis is very good, and most individuals can expect a full recovery within a few weeks. While complications are generally uncommon, individuals may develop anaphylaxis, swelling of the face, and nerve inflammation.


Pubmed

UpToDate

Images


Video


Web:

Medscape

Healthline

DermatologyAdvisor

McMaster Internal Medicine

Milton S. Hershey Medical Center

Serum Sickness Following Treatment with Rituximab (jrheum.com)

Serum sickness associated with rituximab in a patient with hepatitis C virus-related mixed cryoglobulinaemia (rheumatology.oxfordjournals.org)