Back to A-Z


Rheumatoide Arthritis (RA) - Therapie

Die Therapie der rheumatoiden Arthritis (RA) hat sich in den letzten 30 Jahren dramatisch weiterentwickelt, möglicherweise mehr als die jeder anderen rheumatischen Erkrankung. Es ist bemerkenswert, dass Rheumatologen aktuell mehr als 20 zugelassene konventionelle oder biologische DMARD zur Wahl haben. Trotz all diesen grossartigen DMARD-Optionen jedoch war der wichtigste Paradigmenwechsel in der Behandlung der RA die Realisierung, dass der Patient früh behandelt werden sollte und eine tiefe Krankheitsaktivität oder Remission angestrebt werden sollte.

Krankheitsmodifizierende Antirheumatika (DMARDs, disease-modifying anti-rheumatic drugs)

Methotrexat, Sulfasalazin, Hydroxychloroquin, Leflunomid, and Azathioprin

Definitionsgemäss ist ein DMARD in der Lage, den Verlauf der RA zum Besseren zu verändern. Wenn die Definition im engsten Sinne angewendet wird, muss für ein DMARD mittels randomisiert kontrollierten Studien gezeigt werden, dass es nicht nur den klinischen Verlauf der Krankheit verändern kann, sondern auch die radiographische Progression vermindern oder anhalten kann.

Die Art der DMARD-Therapie, welche der Patient erhält, ist weniger wichtig als das Sicherstellen, dass die Therapie die angestrebte Krankheitsaktivität erreicht.

Das initiale DMARD und der Eckstein der Therapie für die meisten Patienten ist Methotrexat.

Viele sehr effektive biologische DMARDs sind verfügbar; praktisch alle DMARDs sind effektiver, wenn sie zusammen mit Methotrexat verabreicht werden.

Nichtsteroidale Antirheumatika können eine hilfreiche Kontrolle der Symptome bieten, aber sind ohne gleichzeitigen Einsatz von DMARDs selten indiziert.

Biologische krankheitsmodifizierende Antirheumatika (biologische DMARDs)

Aufgrund des oft schnellen Wirkungseintritts (insbesondere mit den TNF-Inhibitoren und Tocilizumab) und aufgrund ihrer Fähigkeit, die radiographische Krankheitsprogression zu verlangsamen, werden sie immer früher und öfter in Personen mit RA eingesetzt. Die Herausforderung für Kliniker ist es, konventionelle und biologische Therapien angemessen zu integrieren, indem biologische Wirkstoffe falls notwendig eingesetzt werden, aber sichergestellt wird, dass die deutlich billigeren konventionellen Therapien optimiert wurden.

Glukokortikoide sind schnell wirksame DMARDs, aber haben Nebenwirkungen. Sie sollten deshalb nur mit anderen DMARDs und idealerweise nur als Übergangslösung zur effektiven DMARD-Therapie eingesetzt werden.

Andere konventionelle krankheitsmodifzierende Antirheumatika

Azathioprin

Azathioprin (AZA), 50-200 mg/Tag, wurde über 50 Jahre lang zur Behandlung von RA verwendet. Weil es seit vielen Jahren ein Generikum ist, ist wenig neue Forschung über AZA vorhanden. Obwohl es gegenwärtig sicher nicht als Primärtherapie der RA eingesetzt wird, ist das häufigste Anwendungsgebiet von AZA der Ersatz von MTX wenn Kontraindikationen oder Intoleranzen auf MTX vorhanden sein.

Die ubiquitären Komorbiditäten von RA - insbesondere Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen - müssen aggressiv behandelt werden.

Das Problem mit RA ist der Mangel an gültigen, reproduzierbaren Messwerten der Krankheitsaktivität und Remission, die routinemässig gemessen und in der Klinik verfolgt werden können. Leider misst kein einzelner Untersuchungsbefund oder Labortest die Krankheitsaktivität in Personen mit RA zufriedenstellend.

Vielbeschäftigte Kliniker haben selten die Zeit, die Krankheitsaktivität in mehr als 60 druckdolenten und geschwollenen Gelenken zu dokumentieren und auf Labortestresultate zu warten, um Therapieentscheidungen während dem Besuch des Patienten zu treffen. Aus diesem Grund sind Messwerte beliebt, welche diesen Prozess so stark wie möglich vereinfachen, z.B. Systeme, welche die Anzahl der zu untersuchenden Gelenke auf 28 beschränken (Disease Activity Score in 28 Gelenken [DAS28]), nicht auf Labortests beruhen (Clinical Disease Activity Index), oder voll und ganz von Patienten-Angaben abhängig sind (Routine Assessment Patient Index Data). Zwischen diesen Massen gibt es eine hohe Korrelation. Deshalb ist es aktuell vor allem wichtig, dass die Krankheitsaktivität gemessen wird und weniger wichtig, welches Mass verwendet wird.

Systeme zum Messen RA-Krankheitsaktivität

Tool

Mögliche Werte

Remission

Niedrig

Moderat

Hoch

Disease Activity Score in 28 Gelenken (DAS28)

0-9.4

≤2.6

≤3.2

>3.2 und ≤5.1

>5.1

Simplified Disease Activity Index (SDAI)

0.1-86.0

≤3.3

≤11

>11 und ≤26

>26

Clinical Disease Activity Index (CDAI)

0-76.0

≤2.8

≤10

>10 und ≤22

>22

Rheumatoid Arthritis Disease Activity Index (RADAI)

0-10

≤1.4

<2.2

2.2 und ≤4.9

>4.9

Patient Activity Scale (PAS oder PASII)

0-10

≤1.25

<1.9

≥1.9 und ≤5.3

>5.3

Routine Assessment Patient Index Data (RAPID)

0-30

≤1

<6

≥6 und ≤12

>12

The new ACR/EULAR remission criteria: rationale for developing new criteria for remission

Begleitende Therapie zu Medikamenten

Patientenbildung

Es ist offensichtlich wichtig, dass Patienten eine aktive Rolle im Management ihrer chronischen Erkrankung übernehmen. Je mehr Patienten ihre Erkrankung und Medikation verstehen, umso mehr fühlen sie sich der ganzen Situation gewachsen.

Schmerzkontrolle

Wenn Patienten mit RA früh und effektiv mit DMARDs beandelt werden und die Therapie gesteigert wird, um eine exzellente Kontrolle der aktiven Krankheitskomponenten zu erreichen, kann der Bedarf an Schmerzmitteln, insbesondere Narkotika, minimiert werden. Wenn Schmerzen ein grosses Problem sind, sollte zuerst das DMARD-Programm überprüft werden und falls nötig angepasst werden, um eine aktive Synovitis maximal einzuschränken.

Ruhe und/oder Sport und Aktivitäten des Alltags

Es ist unerlässlich, dass die Patienten durch ausgebildete Experten bezüglich der Wichtigkeit einer für die entzündeten Gelenke optimalen Balance zwischen Ruhe und Sport gebildet und betreut werden.

Behandlung der RA-Komorbiditäten und die Interaktion von Rheumatologen mit Hausärzten

Das bestmögliche Outcome für Patienten mit RA kann nur mit einer sorgfältig funktionierenden Zusammenarbeit zwischen Hausärzten und Rheumatologen erreicht werden. Einerseits ist es aufgrund der ständig zunehmenden Komplexität des RA-Managements, der Kombinationstherapien und der möglichen Toxizitäten der Therapie immer wichtiger, dass alle Patienten mit RA durch Rheumatologen behandelt werden. Es gibt gute Belege dafür, dass Patienten mit RA, die von einem Rheumatologen behandelt werden, öfter DMARDs und Kombinations-DMARDs einnehmen und mit ihrer Betreuung zufriedener sind. Andererseits ist aufgrund der kritischen Natur einiger Komorbiditäten (insbesondere Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankung) ein dauerhaftes Engagment eines Hausarztes ebenso wichtig für ein optimales Outcome.

Die Rolle der Hausärzte in der Behandlung der Rheumatoiden Arthritis:

  • Kardiovaskuläre Risikofaktoren überwachen und aggressiv behandeln
  • Osteoporose überwachen und behandeln/verhindern
  • Toxizitäten von RA-Medikamenten erkennen und ein angemessenes und rechtzeitiges Workup veranlassen
  • Die Risiken von Infektionen erkennen und einen aktuellen Impfstatus sicherstellen

Siehe auch den Hauptartikel über Rheumatoide Arthritis.


PubMed

UpToDate


Video - Drug Treatment

Video - Practical Pain Management


Arthritis Foundation

Medscape

EULAR Recommendations

ACR Guidelines

NHS UK

Back to A-Z


Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA) - Treatment

The treatment of rheumatoid arthritis (RA) has evolved dramatically during the past 30 years, perhaps more so than for any of the other rheumatic diseases.It is truly remarkable that rheumatologists now have more than 20 approved conventional or biologic DMARDs from which to choose. However, despite all these terrific DMARD options, the most important paradigm shift for the treatment of RA has been the realization that patients should be treated early and with a target of low disease activity or remission.

Disease-Modifying Anti-rheumatic Drugs

Methotrexate, Sulfasalazine, Hydroxychloroquine, Leflunomide, and Azathioprine

By definition, a DMARD has the ability to change the course of RA (for the better). The most rigorous application of this definition requires RCTs to show that a DMARD has the ability not only to change the clinical course of the disease but also to decrease or halt the radiographic progression.

The type of DMARD therapy the patient receives is not as important as ensuring that the treatment meets the disease activity target.

The initial DMARD and the cornerstone of therapy for most patients is methotrexate.

Many very effective biologic DMARDs are available; essentially all DMARDs are more effective when administered with methotrexate.

Nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs may provide useful symptom control but are rarely indicated without concomitant use of DMARDs.

Biologic Disease-Modifying Anti-rheumatic Drugs

Because of their often quick onset of action, particularly with the TNF inhibitors and tocilizumab, and their ability to retard radiographic progression of disease, they are increasingly used earlier and more often in persons with RA. The challenge for clinicians is to appropriately integrate conventional and biologic therapies and to use biologic agents when necessary but to make sure the much less expensive conventional therapies have been optimized.

Glucocorticoids are rapidly effective DMARDs but have adverse effects. Therefore they should be used only with other DMARDs and ideally only as a bridge to effective DMARD therapy.

Other Conventional Disease-Modifying Anti-rheumatic Drugs

Azathioprine

Azathioprine (AZA), 50 to 200 mg/day, has been used to treat RA for more than 50 years. Because it has been a generic drug for many years, little recent research has been performed on AZA. Although clearly it is not a first-line DMARD in contemporary RA treatment, AZA is most commonly used as a substitute for MTX when contraindications or intolerance to MTX exist.

The ubiquitous comorbidities of RA—particularly cardiovascular disease—must be addressed aggressively.

The problem with RA has been the lack of valid reproducible measures of disease activity and remission that can be routinely measured and followed up on in the clinic. Unfortunately, no single examination finding or laboratory test satisfactorily measures disease activity in persons with RA.

Busy clinicians rarely have time to document disease activity in more than 60 tender and swollen joints or wait for laboratory test results to make treatment decisions during a patient’s visit. Therefore measures that simplify this process as much as possible are being embraced, including measures that limit the joints that are examined to 28 (Disease Activity Score in 28 joints, [DAS28]) do not require laboratory tests (Clinical Disease Activity Index), or are entirely dependent on patient-reported data (Routine Assessment Patient Index Data). A high correlation exists among these measures, and thus currently in the clinic it is very important that disease activity be measured and less important which measure is used.

Instruments used to measure Rheumatoid Arthritis Disease Activity

Instrument

Score Range

Remission

Low

Moderate

High

Disease Activity Score in 28 joints (DAS28)

0-9.4

≤2.6

≤3.2

>3.2 and ≤5.1

>5.1

Simplified Disease Activity Index (SDAI)

0.1-86.0

≤3.3

≤11

>11 and ≤26

>26

Clinical Disease Activity Index (CDAI)

0-76.0

≤2.8

≤10

>10 and ≤22

>22

Rheumatoid Arthritis Disease Activity Index (RADAI)

0-10

≤1.4

<2.2

2.2 and ≤4.9

>4.9

Patient Activity Scale (PAS or PASII)

0-10

≤1.25

<1.9

≥1.9 and ≤5.3

>5.3

Routine Assessment Patient Index Data (RAPID)

0-30

≤1

<6

≥6 and ≤12

>12

The new ACR/EULAR remission criteria: rationale for developing new criteria for remission

Adjuncts to Medications

Patient Education

It is clearly important for patients to take an active role in the management of their chronic disease. The more patients understand their disease and medications, the more control they feel they have over the entire situation.

Pain Control

If patients with RA are treated early and effectively with DMARDs and therapy is escalated to achieve excellent control of the active components of disease, the need for specific pain medications, particularly narcotics, can be minimized. If pain is a major problem, the first thing to do is review the DMARD program and modify it to achieve maximum control of any active synovitis.

Rest and/or Exercise and Activities of Daily Living

Education and supervision of a patient by trained professionals regarding the importance of finding the best balance of rest and exercise for inflamed joints is essential.

Treatment of Rheumatoid Arthritis Comorbidities and the Interactions of Rheumatologists with Primary Care Physicians

The best possible outcomes for patients with RA can be achieved only with a carefully orchestrated collaboration between PCPs and rheumatologists. On the one hand, the ever-increasing complexity of RA management options, combination therapies, and possible toxicities of therapy have made it increasingly essential that all patients with RA be treated by rheumatologists. Good-quality evidence shows that patients with RA are more likely to be taking DMARDs, as well as combination DMARDs, and are happier with their care when they are treated by rheumatologists. On the other hand, the realization of the critical nature of the comorbidities associated with RA, especially cardiovascular disease, make ongoing engagement of a PCP essential to produce optimal outcomes.

Role of Primary Care Physicians in Treating Rheumatoid Arthritis:

  • Monitor and aggressively treat cardiovascular risk factors
  • Monitor and treat/prevent osteoporosis
  • Recognize toxicities of RA medications and initiate appropriate and timely workup
  • Recognize the risks for infections and ensure immunization status is current

See also the main article on rheumatoid arthritis.


PubMed

UpToDate


Video - Drug Treatment

Video - Practical Pain Management


Arthritis Foundation

Medscape

EULAR Recommendations

ACR Guidelines

NHS UK