Back to A-Z


Aphthen / Stomatitis aphthosa

Aphthen sind häufige orale Läsionen, die ungefähr 10-20% der Bevölkerung betreffen. Die Ätiologie der Stomatitis aphthosa ist unbekannt, aber es gibt vermehrte Hinweise auf eine immunogene Komponente, welche die Ulzeration der betroffenen oralen Mukosa bewirkt.

Aphthöse Ulzera werden normalerweise in drei verschiedene Typen klassifiziert: minor, herpetiform und major.

Mit Morbus Behçet assoziierte aphthöse Ulzera:

Aphthöse Stomatitis ist die Erstmanifestation in 25-75% der Patienten mit Morbus Behçet. Die häufigsten Stellen der Ulzeration sind die mukösen Membranen der Lippen, des Zahnfleischs, der Backen und der Zunge. Gaumen, Mandeln und Pharynx sind nur selten betroffen (im Gegensatz zur reaktiven Arthritis oder dem Stevens-Johnson-Syndrom). Die meisten oralen Ulzera treten gehäuft auf (3 bis >10 Läsionen), sind weniger als 1cm im Durchmesser, heilen innerhalb 1-3 Wochen ohne Vernarbung und sind rezidivierend.

Komplexe Aphthose:

Dies sind Patienten ohne systemische Manifestationen eines Morbus Behçet, welche rezidivierende orale oder genitale aphthöse Ulzera oder fast konstant multiple (>3) orale Aphthen haben. Morbus Behçet und komplexe Aphthose können schwierig zu unterscheiden sein, weil sich die initiale klinische Präsentation von Morbus Behçet oft auf orale und genitale Ulzerationen beschränkt.

Differentialdiagnose der aphthösen Stomatitis:

ERKRANKUNG: BETROFFENE POPULATION:
Idiopathisch 70%
B12/Folsäure/Eisen-Mangel 22%
Gluten-sensitive Enteropathie 2%
Menstruell 2%
Komplexe Apththose 2%
Entzündliche Darmerkrankung 1%
Morbus Behçet 1%

Pubmed

UpToDate

Images


Web:

Medscape

Aphthous Ulcers in Children - University of Rochester


Previous Next

Back to A-Z


Aphthae / Aphthous Stomatitis

Aphthae are common oral lesions that affect approximately 10% to 20% of the population. The etiology of aphthous stomatitis is unknown but according to an increasing evidence, its development has an immunogenic process that causes the ulceration of the involved oral mucosa.

Aphthous ulcers are usually classified into three different types: minor, herpetiform and major

Aphthous ulcers associated with Behçet’s disease:

Aphthous-like stomatitis is the initial manifestation in 25% to 75% of patients with Behçet’s disease. Preferential sites of ulceration are the mucous membranes of the lips, gingiva, cheeks and tongue. The palate, tonsils, and pharynx are rarely involved (unlike reactive arthritis or Stevens–Johnson syndrome). Most oral ulcers occur in crops (3 to >10 lesions), are less than 1 cm in diameter, heal without scarring within 1 to 3 weeks, and are recurrent.

Complex aphthosis:

Patients without systemic manifestations of Behçet’s disease who have recurrent oral and genital aphthous ulcers or almost constant multiple (>3) oral aphthae. Differentiation from complex aphthosis may be difficult because the initial clinical presentation of Behçet’s disease is often confined to oral and genital ulceration.

Differential Diagnosis of Aphthous Stomatitis:

CONDITION: AFFECTED POPULATION:
Idiopathic 70%
B12/folate/iron deficiency 22%
Gluten-sensitive enteropathy 2%
Menstrually related 2%
Complex aphthosis 2%
Inflammatory bowel disease 1%
Behçet’s disease 1%



Pubmed

UpToDate

Images


Web:

Medscape

Aphthous Ulcers in Children - University of Rochester


Previous Next