Back to A-Z


Ankylosierende Spondylitis (AS - Spondyloarthritis)

AS (auch als Morbus Bechterew oder Bechterew-Strümpell-Marie-Krankheit bekannt) ist eine chronisch-entzündliche systemische Erkrankung, welche die Sakroilial-Gelenke, Wirbelsäule und nicht selten periphere Gelenke betrifft. Der Name ist vom griechischen ankylos = "gebogen" (Ankylose bedeutet Gelenkversteifung) und spondylos = "Wirbel" abgeleitet. Die Diagnose lautet "primäre AS" wenn keine assoziierte Erkrankung vorhanden ist und "sekundäre AS" wenn sie mit einer reaktiven Arthritis, Psoriasis, Colitis ulcerosa, oder Morbus Crohn assoziiert ist.

Sakroiliitis und Enthesitis sind die Markenzeichen der ankylosierenden Spondylitis (AS).

  • Rheumafaktor (RF) und antinukleäre Antikörper (ANA) sind negativ (seronegative Spondyloarthropathie).

  • Humanes Leukozytenantigen (HLA)-B27 erhöht das Risiko, eine AS zu entwickeln um das 50- bis 100-fache.

  • Nur 2 % (1 von 50) der HLA-B27-positiven Individuen entwickeln zu Lebzeiten AS.

  • Tumor Nekrose-Faktor (TNF)-α hemmende Mittel sind sehr effektiv in AS für sowohl spinale als auch periphere Gelenke.

Röntgenologische Sakroiliitis ist das Markenzeichen der AS. Vom Auftreten der entzündlichen Rückenschmerzen zur Entwicklung definitiver röntgenologischer Sakroiliitis verstreichen aber durchschnittlich 4-9 Jahre. Da die Mehrzahl (70%) der Patienten im frühen Stadium zur Zeit der Diagnose keine klaren radiographischen Veränderungen aufweisen, wurden die ASAS (Assessment of SpondyloArthritis International Society) Klassifikations-Kriterien für Patienten entwickelt, die seit mindestens 3 Monaten Rückenschmerzen haben und zum Zeitpunkt des ersten Auftretens mindestens 45 Jahre alt waren. Diese Kriterien haben eine Sensitivität von 83% und eine Spezifität von 84% für axiale SpA.

ASAS-Klassifikationskriterien für axiale SpA:

  • SpA-Merkmale: entzündliche Rückenschmerzen, Arthritis, Enthesitis (Ferse), Uveitis, Daktylitis, Psoriasis, Morbus Crohn / Colitis ulcerosa, gutes Ansprechen auf nichtsteroidale Antirheumatika (NSARs), familiäre Vorgeschichte für SpA, HLA-B27, erhöhtes C-reaktives Protein (CRP).

  • Sakroiliitis in der Bildgebung: aktive (akute) Entzündung im MRI zeigt Sakroiliitis oder definitive röntgenologische Sakroiliitis.

Sakroiliitis in der Bildgebung

HLA-B27

plus

oder

plus

≥1 SpA-Merkmal

≥2 andere SpA-Merkmale

SpA, Spondyloarthritis

Häufigste periphere Gelenke, die in AS beteiligt sind:

Ungefähr 30% der Patienten mit AS entwickeln eine periphere Arthritis. Die Hüften und Schultern (Gürtelgelenke) sind am häufigsten betroffen. Hüft-Beteiligung in AS ist mit einer schlechten Prognose assoziiert. Seltener ist die Arthritis der Beckensymphyse oder der sternoklavikulären, temporomandibulären, oder krikoarytenoiden Gelenke. Eine Beteiligung der kostovertebralen, sternokostalen, oder manubriosternalen Gelenke kann Brustschmerzen verursachen, welche durch Husten oder Niessen verstärkt werden.

Extraskelettale Erscheinungen von AS:

A - Aorten-Insuffizienz (3-10%), aszendierende Aortitis, und andere kardiale Manifestationen wie Leit-Abnormalitäten (3-9%), diastolische Dysfunktion, Perikarditis und ischämische Herzkrankheit.

N - Neurologisch: atlantoaxial (C1-C2), Subluxation (2%), Cauda-equina-Syndrom durch spinale Arachnoiditis, traumatische spinale Frakturen mit Myelopathie (C5-C6, am häufigsten C6-C7), Ossifikation des posterioren longitudinalen Ligaments mit spinaler Stenose.

K - Kidney (Niere): sekundäre Amyloidose, Immunoglobin A (IgA) Nephropathie, chronische Prostatitis.

S - Spinal: zervikale Fraktur, spinale Stenose, signifikante spinale Osteoporose.

P - Pulmonal: Oberlappen-Fibrose, restriktive Veränderungen.

O - Okulär: akute vordere Uveitis (25-30% der Patienten).

N - Nephropathie (IgA), Nephrolithiasis

D - Diszitis oder Spondylodiszitis (Andersson-Läsionen).

Ausserdem haben 30-60% der Patienten eine asymptomatische mikroskopische Kolitis oder Crohn-artige Läsionen im terminalen Ileus oder Colon. AS-Patienten mit peripherer Arthritis haben ein erhöhtes Risiko für Kolitis-Läsionen.

Typische röntgenologische AS-Merkmale:

Die röntgenologischen Veränderungen in AS werden vor allem im axialen Skelett beobachtet (sakroiliakal, aphophyseal, diskovertebral, kostovertebral), sowie an Stellen der Enthesiopathie ("Aufzwirbeln" des Beckenkamms, des Tuberculum majus humeri, der ischialen Tuberositas, der femoralen Trochanter, des Calcaneus, und der vertebralen Dornfortsätze). Sakroiliitis ist normalerweise bilateral und symmetrisch. Zu Beginn betrifft es die synovial gesäumten unteren zwei Drittel des sakroilialen Gelenks. Die frühste radiographische Veränderung ist Erosion auf der iliakalen Seite des sakroiliakalen Gelenks, wo der Knorpel dünner ist und Einschnitte hat. Die Progression des erosiven Prozesses resultiert in einer initialen "Pseudo-Erweiterung" des sakroilialaken Gelenkspalts mit knöchiger Sklerose, normalerweise gefolgt von kompletter knöchiger Ankylose oder Gelenksfusion (Grad 4). Wenn einfache Röntgenaufnahmen in früher Sakroiliitis normal erscheinen, zeigt ein MRI ohne Kontrastmittel in den meisten Fällen Entzündung und Ödem auf.

Natürlicher Verlauf von AS:

Obwohl der Verlauf variabel ist, sagen die ersten 10 Jahre den weiteren Verlauf der Krankheit voraus. Einige Kliniker verwenden standardisierte Instrumente wie den Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Disease Activity Index (BASDAI, Krankheitsaktivität), den Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Metrology Index (BASMI, spinale Mobilität) und den Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Functional Index (BASFI), um die Krankheitsentwicklung und das Ansprechen auf Therapie zu messen. Zu den frühen Faktoren, welche mit einer schlechten Prognose verbunden sind, zählen frühe Hüftgelenksbeteiligung, BSR >30 mm/h oder persistent erhöhtes CRP, schlechtes Ansprechen auf NSAR-Therapie und frühe Entwicklung von Syndesmophyten. Extraartikuläre Manifestationen wie Uveitis, kardiovaskuläre Beteiligung und pulmonäre Fibrose sind ebenfalls wegweisend für einen schlechten Verlauf. Patienten mit milder AS haben meist eine normale Lebenserwartung und bleiben weiterhin arbeitstätig. Patienten mit schlechten prognostischen Zeichen hingegen haben ein dreifach erhöhtes Risiko aus der Erwerbstätigkeit auszutreten und ein 1.5-fach erhöhtes Todesrisiko. Zu den Todesursachen zählen kardiovasukläre Erkrankungen, gastrointestinale Erkrankungen und spinale Frakturen.


Pubmed

UpToDate

Images


Video: Spine-health


Web:

Radiopaedia

MayoClinic

Medicinenet

Medscape

Patientenbroschüre Rheumaliga Schweiz (German)


Previous Next

Back to A-Z


Ankylosing spondylitis (AS - Spondyloarthritis)

AS (less commonly known as Bechterew disease and Marie Strümpell disease) is a chronic systemic inflammatory disease affecting the sacroiliac joints, spine, and, not infrequently, peripheral joints. The name is derived from the Greek roots ankylos, meaning “bent” (ankylosis means joint fusion), and spondylos, meaning “vertebra.” The diagnosis is “primary AS” if no associated disorder is present and “secondary AS” if associated with reactive arthritis, psoriasis, ulcerative colitis, or Crohn’s disease.

  • Sacroiliitis and enthesitis are the hallmarks of ankylosing spondylitis (AS).

  • Rheumatoid factor (RF) and antinuclear antibody (ANA) are negative (seronegative spondyloarthropathy).

  • Human leukocyte antigen (HLA)-B27 increases the risk of developing AS 50 to 100 times.

  • Only 2% (1 out of 50) of HLA-B27-positive individuals develop AS during their lifetime.

  • Tumor necrosis factor (TNF)-α blocking agents are very effective in AS for both spinal and peripheral joints.

Radiographic sacroiliitis is the hallmark of AS. However, it takes an average of 4 to 9 years from onset of inflammatory back pain to the development of definite radiographic sacroiliitis. Because the majority (70%) of patients in early disease will not have definite radiographic changes at the time of diagnosis, the ASAS (Assessment of SpondyloArthritis International Society) classification criteria were developed for patients with back pain greater than 3 months and age of onset less than 45 years. These criteria have a sensitivity of 83% and specificity of 84% for a patient having an axial SpA

ASAS Classification Criteria for Axial SpA:

  • SpA features: inflammatory back pain, arthritis, enthesitis (heel), uveitis, dactylitis, psoriasis, Crohn’s disease/ulcerative colitis, good response to nonsteroidal antiinflammatory drugs (NSAIDs), family history for SpA, HLA-B27, elevated C-reactive protein (CRP).

  • Sacroiliitis on imaging: active (acute) inflammation on MRI showing sacroiliitis or definite radiographic sacroiliitis.

Sacroiliitis on imaging

HLA-B27

plus

OR

plus

≥1 SpA feature

≥2 other SpA features

SpA, Spondyloarthritis

Most commonly peripheral joints involved in AS:

Approximately 30% of patients with AS develop a peripheral arthritis. The hips and shoulders (girdle joints) are most commonly involved. Notably, hip involvement in AS is associated with a poor prognosis. Rarely, arthritis of the sternoclavicular, temporomandibular, cricoarytenoid, or symphysis pubis occurs. Involvement of the thoracic costovertebral, sternocostal, and manubriosternal joints may cause chest pain worsened by coughing or sneezing.

Extraskeletal manifestations of AS:

A—aortic insufficiency (3% to 10%), ascending aortitis, and other cardiac manifestations, such as conduction abnormalities (3% to 9%), diastolic dysfunction, pericarditis, and ischemic heart disease.

N—neurologic: atlantoaxial (C1 to C2) subluxation (2%), cauda equina syndrome from spinal arachnoiditis, traumatic spinal fractures with myelopathy (C5 to C6, C6 to C7 most commonly), ossification of the posterior longitudinal ligament with spinal stenosis.

K—kidney: secondary amyloidosis, immunoglobulin A (IgA) nephropathy, chronic prostatitis.

S—spine: cervical fracture, spinal stenosis, significant spinal osteoporosis.

P—pulmonary: upper lobe fibrosis, restrictive changes.

O—ocular: acute anterior uveitis (25% to 30% of patients).

N—nephropathy (IgA), nephrolithiasis

D—discitis or spondylodiscitis (Andersson lesions).

In addition, 30% to 60% of patients have asymptomatic microscopic colitis or Crohn’s-like lesions in their terminal ileum and colon. AS patients with peripheral arthritis are more likely to have colitis lesions.

Typical radiographic features of AS:

The radiographic changes of AS are predominantly seen in the axial skeleton (sacroiliac, apophyseal, discovertebral, and costovertebral) as well as at sites of enthesopathy (“whiskering” of the iliac crest, greater tuberosities of the humerus, ischial tuberosities, femoral trochanters, calcaneus, and vertebral spinous processes). Sacroiliitis is usually bilateral and symmetric. Initially it involves the synovial-lined lower two thirds of the sacroiliac joint. The earliest radiographic change is erosion of the iliac side of the sacroiliac joint, where the cartilage is thinner and has clefts. Progression of the erosive process results in an initial “pseudo-widening” of the sacroiliac joint space with bony sclerosis eventually followed by complete bony ankylosis or fusion of the joint (grade 4). In cases of early sacroiliitis where plain radiographs may be normal, a noncontrast MRI will demonstrate inflammation and edema in the majority of cases.

Natural course of AS:

Although the course is variable, the first 10 years predicts the subsequent course of the disease. The Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Disease Activity Index (BASDAI, disease activity), Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Metrology Index (BASMI, spinal mobility), and Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Functional Index (BASFI) are standardized instruments used by some clinicians to measure disease progression and response to therapy. Early factors that predict a poor prognosis include early hip joint involvement, ESR >30 mm/h or persistently high CRP, poor response to NSAID therapy, and early development of syndesmophytes. Extraarticular manifestations such as uveitis, cardiovascular involvement, and pulmonary fibrosis portend a poor outcome. It is likely that patients with mild AS have a normal life expectancy and will maintain their ability to work. However, patients with poor prognostic signs have a three times increased risk of withdrawing from the workforce and a 1.5 times increased risk of dying. Causes of death include cardiovascular disease, gastrointestinal disease, and spinal fractures.


Pubmed

UpToDate

Images


Video: Spine-health


Web:

Radiopaedia

MayoClinic

Medicinenet

Medscape

Patientenbroschüre Rheumaliga Schweiz (German)


Previous Next