Back to A-Z


Hypertrophe Osteoarthropathie (HOA)

HOA (auch Pierre-Marie-Syndrom, Bamberger-Syndrom, Osteoarthropatia hypertrophica, Mankowsky-Syndrom, oder Hagner-Syndrom genannt) ist ein Syndrom, bei dem es zu Trommelschlägerfinger ("clubbing", Kolbenfinger) und -zehen, sowie Periostitis der Röhrenknochen und Arthritis mit nichtentzündlicher Synovialflüssigkeit kommt.


Die primäre HOA (Pachydermoperiostosis) ist autosomal dominant, tritt in der Kindheit vorwiegen in Jungen auf und ist charakterisiert durch Trommelschlägerfinger, Hauthypertrophie (Pachydermie), rauhe Gesichtszüge, Seborrhoe und Hyperhidrose.


Die sekundäre HOA kann in eine generalisierte und eine lokalisierte Form eingeteilt werden.

Generalisierte Form: oft (in 90% der Fälle) mit intrathorakalen malignen Neoplasmen assoziiert (nichtkleinzelliger Lungenkrebs, Mesotheliom, andere). Tritt auch in Patienten mit anderen Malignitäten (hepatisch, gastrointestinal POEMS-Syndrom), chronischen Infektionen (Lunge, subakute bakterielle Endokarditis, HIV und andere), zystischer Fibrose, kongenitaler zyanotischer Herzerkrankung, entzündlicher Darmerkrankung, Zirrhose, Morbus Basedow oder bei bestimmten Medikamenten (Voriconazol) auf.

Lokalisierte Form: mit Hemiplegie, Aneurysmen, infektiver Arteriitis und persistierendem Ductus arteriosus assoziiert.

Der klinische Verlauf der sekundären HOA wird von der zugrundeliegenden Primärerkrankung bestimmt. Eine Schlüsselrolle in der Ätiologie der HOA scheint die Aktivierung von Blutplättchen und Endothelzellen zu spielen, mit der Freisetzung von endothelialem Wachstumsfaktor und Blutplättchen-Wachstumsfaktor.


Pubmed

UpToDate

Images


Web:

Medscape

Radiopaedia

Orphanet

Back to A-Z


Hypertrophic Osteoarthropathy (HOA)

HOA (also known as Pierre-Marie syndrome, Bamberger syndrome, osteoarthropatia hypertrophica, Mankowsky syndrome and Hagner syndrome) is a syndrome that includes clubbing of fingers (Hippocratic fingers) and toes, periostitis of tubular bones, and arthritis with a noninflammatory synovial fluid.

Primary HOA (pachydermoperiostosis) is autosomal dominant, appears during childhood mostly in males and is characterized by clubbing, skin hypertrophy (pachyderma), coarse facial features, seborrhea, and hyperhidrosis.

Secondary HOA can be divided into generalized or localized form.

Generalized form: often associated with intrathoracic malignant neoplasms (nonsmall cell lung cancer, mesothelioma, and others) in 90% of cases. It also occurs in patients with other malignancies (hepatic, gastrointestinal, POEMS), chronic infections (lung, subacute bacterial endocarditis, HIV, and others), cystic fibrosis, congenital cyanotic heart disease, inflammatory bowel disease, cirrhosis, Graves’ disease, or on certain drugs (voriconazole).

Localized form: associated with hemiplegia, aneurysms, infective arteritis, and patent ductus arteriosus.

The clinical course of secondary HOA is determined by the underlying primary disease. Platelet/endothelial cell activation with release of vascular endothelial growth factor and platelet-derived growth factor appears to play a key role in the etiology of HOA.


Pubmed

UpToDate

Images


Web:

Medscape

Radiopaedia

Orphanet