Back to A-Z


Hand

Inspektion der Hand

Generelle Beurteilung von Alter, Entzündung, Atrophie, Deformität und Asymmetrie. Zu den altersbedingten Veränderungen gehören prominente Venen auf dem Handrücken, milde Atrophie der intrinsischen Muskeln, Lentigines der Haut und arthrotische Protuberanzen am CMC-Gelenk an der Daumenbasis, sowie Osteophyten an den DIP- und PIP-Gelenken.

Eine akute Entzündung nach einem Trauma zeichnet sich durch regionale Schwellung und ein Erythem aus. Chronische Entzündung ist oft mit Synovitis der Gelenke und/oder Sehnen assoziiert.

Um die Deformität, Beweglichkeit und Instabilität jedes Fingers zu beurteilen, ist ein systematisches Vorgehen und eine gründliche Dokumentation wichtig. Eine gründliche Handgelenkspalpation, einschliesslich provokativer Teste für Handwurzel-Instabilität, erlaubt es dem Untersucher spezifische Erkrankungen zu lokalisieren.

Deformitätsmuster

Rheumatoide Arthritis (RA):

Kann eine Deformität jeglicher Gelenke der Hand und des Handgelenks bewirken (z.B. Knopflochdeformität, Schwanenhalsdeformität, Z-Daumen)

Juvenile Rheumatoide Arthritis (JRA):

Kinder mit entzündlicher Arthritis entwickeln eine Wachstumsverzögerung der Metakarpalknochen, was zur Verkürzung einer oder mehrerer Finger führt. Eine Entzündung des Handgelenks für zu einem Verlust des Bewegungsumfangs.

Psoriatische Arthritis

Teleskopartige Verkürzung der Finger, ausgelöst durch teilweise Resorption der Phalangen, oft assoziiert mit konzentrischer Runzelbildung der Haut (Opernglas-Hand) und psoriatischen Läsionen der Haut und Nägel. Verwachsene IP-Gelenke sind ebenfalls häufig.

Dupuytren-Kontraktur

Die aponeurotische Verdickung der palmaren Faszie kann sich nach distal erstrecken und die Finger mitbeteiligen. Die Finger flektieren an den MCP-Gelenken aufgrund straffer fibröser Bänder oder "Kordeln", welche von der palmaren Faszien ausstrahlen; dadurch kann die Hand nicht mehr flach auf einen Tisch platziert werden.

Posttraumatische Deformitäten

Ein Hammerfinger ist ein flektiertes DIP-Gelenk ohne aktive Extension aufgrund einer akuten oder chronischen Ruptur der terminalen Sehne des Extensoren-Mechanismus. Eine Boxerfraktur ist eine Fraktur des Metakarpal-Schafts proximal des MCP-Gelenks, wobei die Protuberanz des Metakarpalkopfes verschwindet; betrifft typischerweise den fünften Metakarpalknochen.

Arthrose

Osteophyten an den DIP- und PIP-Gelenken (Heberden- und Bouchard-Knoten) treten mit dem Alter oder nach einem Trauma auf und können mit einer graduellen ulnaren Abweichung der Finger verbunden sein. Ein rechteckiges Karpometakarpal-Gelenk (CMC) an der Daumenbasis ist ein besonders häufiges Symptom der Arthrose.

Andere Deformitätsmuster

Kongenitale Anomalien der Hand und des Handgelenks können der Schlüssel zu Diagnosen wie dem McCune-Albright-Syndrom oder der Arthrogrypose sein.



PubMed

UpToDate

Images


Video: The Rheumatological examination of the Hands


Web:

clinicalexam

Hand Examination - Oxford Medical Education

Rheumatic Hand Deformities - PubMed

Deformities in Rheumatoid Arthritis - Arthitis.org

Hand Surgery in Rheumatoid Arthritis

Hand Anatomy (Healthline)

Sie haben es in der Hand - Patientenbroschüre Rheumaliga Schweiz (German)


Previous Next

Back to A-Z


Hand

Hand Inspection

General assessment of age, inflammation, atrophy, deformity, and asymmetry. Age-related changes include prominent veins on the dorsum of the hand, mild atrophy of the intrinsic muscles, lentigines on the skin and osteoarthritic prominences at the CMC joint at the base of the thumb, and osteophytes at the DIP and PIP joints.

Acute inflammation following trauma is characterized by regional swelling and erythema. Chronic inflammation is often associated with synovitis of the joints and/or tendons.

Assessing the deformity, motion, and instability of each digit requires a systematic approach and thorough documentation. Detailed wrist palpation, including provocative testing for carpal instability, will allow the examiner to localize specific disorders.

Deformity Patterns

Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA):

Can result in deformity of any or all of the joints of the hand and wrist (e.g. Boutonnière’s deformity, swan-neck deformity , Z-shaped deformity of the thumb)

Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis (JRA):

Children with inflammatory arthritis develop growth retardation of the metacarpals leading to shortening of one or several digits. Inflammation at the wrist results in lost range of motion.

Psoriatic Arthritis

Telescoped shortening of the digits, produced by partial resorption of the phalanges, often associated with concentric wrinkling of the skin (opera-glass hand), and psoriatic lesions of the skin or nails. Fused IP joints are also common.

Dupuytren Contracture

The aponeurotic thickening of the palmar fascia may extend distally to involve the digits. The fingers become flexed at the MCP joints by taut fibrous bands, or “cords,” that radiate from the palmar fascia, and the hand cannot be placed flat on a table (positive tabletop test)

Post-traumatic Deformities

Mallet finger is a flexed DIP joint with no active extension due to an acute or chronic rupture of the terminal tendon of the extensor mechanism. A dropped knuckle refers to fracture of the metacarpal shaft proximal to the MCP joint, with disappearance of the prominence of the metacarpal head typically involving the fifth metacarpal “boxer’s fracture.”

Osteoarthritis (OA)

Osteophytes at the DIP and PIP joints (Heberden and Bouchard nodes respectively) occur with age or following trauma and may be associated with gradual ulnar drift of the fingers. “Squaring” of the carpometacarpal (CMC) joint at the base of the thumb due to OA is particularly common.

Other Deformity Patterns

Congenital anomalies of the hand and wrist can be the clue to diagnoses such as Albright disease or arthrogryposis


PubMed

UpToDate

Images


Video: The Rheumatological examination of the Hands


Web:

clinicalexam

Hand Examination - Oxford Medical Education

Rheumatic Hand Deformities - PubMed

Deformities in Rheumatoid Arthritis - Arthitis.org

Hand Surgery in Rheumatoid Arthritis

Hand Anatomy (Healthline)

Sie haben es in der Hand - Patientenbroschüre Rheumaliga Schweiz (German)


Previous Next